Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Zowie Vonkalckreuth Contributor

Zowie is a fourth-year Energy Systems Engineering undergraduate student at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. After studying the environment through high school, she fell in love with studying alternative energies and promoting sustainability-focused initiatives. She now works as an Asset and Sustainability Co-ordinator with the university's Office of Campus Infrastructure and Sustainability, is the leader of the university's Blue Team, and serves as a Citizen Member on the Durham Region Roundtable on Climate Change. Her final-year research focuses on smart cities and sustainable development for new communities in the Durham Region. 

Twitter: @ZVonkalckreuth