Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Board of Directors

The most recent board of directors at the DSEA included:

Executive Committee
Michael Kobzar, Siemens Canada Inc. – President and Chair
Kevin Powers, Ontario Power Generation (OPG) – Vice-Chair
Sheila McGrory, Town of Whitby – Treasurer
Michael Owen, University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) – Secretary
Michael Angemeer , Veridian Corp. – Past-Chair
Roger Anderson, Regional Municipality of Durham

Board Members at Large
Mary Collins, Durham College
Robert Dysiewicz, Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
Brian Fehrenbach, Candu Energy Inc.
Sheila Hall, Clarington Board of Trade/Municipality of Clarington
Lisa Hausz, Town of Ajax
Jeff Kistner, Intellimeter Canada Inc.
Sanjay Krishnan, Tetra Tech
Atul Mahajan, Oshawa Power & Utilities Corporation
Gord R McBrien, Ontario Energy Network
Dan Ross, SABIC Innovative Plastics
Mayor David Ryan,City of Pickering
Cindy Symons-Milroy, City of Oshawa